Crumble

Contributors

By Meredith McClaren

Illustrated by Andrea Bell

Formats and Prices

Price

$9.99

Price

$12.99 CAD

A heartfelt graphic novel for fans of Sheets and Real Friends about baking, friendship, and feeling every kind of emotion—no matter the flavor. 

Emily, her mom, and her aunt Gina have a very special magical power: They can bake emotions into the desserts they sell at their family bakery. Need a dash of confidence? Try their millionaire shortbread! Want relief after a stressful day? The cheesecake will lighten your spirits! There is only one rule: Never bake a bad feeling.    

Every day after school, Emily and her best friend, Dae, make tried-and-true recipes, while she and Aunt Gina brainstorm new ones. But when Aunt Gina dies in an accident, Emily’s life is turned upside down. Not knowing what to do, Emily breaks the rule and bakes  her bad feelings into. . . a crumble. It looks gross. Dae says it tastes gross. But they can’t stop eating it. Neither can Emily’s classmates. And with her grief and pain baked into the crumble, Emily gets the comfort of being at least a little numb. So even though she’s not supposed to, she makes it again, and again, and again.  

But baking (and eating) bad feelings doesn’t really make them go away . . .  

On Sale
Feb 25, 2025
Page Count
208 pages
ISBN-13
9781523532285

Meredith McClaren

About the Author

MEREDITH McCLAREN is the writer and creator of Hinges for Image Comics, and the artist for the graphic novels Heart In A Box and Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job.  Additionally she’s done short stories for Adventure TimeBee and Puppycat, and Twisted Romance.  She lives in Phoenix, Arizona. You can find Meredith on Instagram: @iniquitousfish.

Learn more about this author

Andrea Bell

About the Illustrator

ANDREA BELL is an illustrator and comic artist living in Chicago through the best and worst seasons. She is the illustrator of the Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw trilogy, The Leak, and Maker Comics: Conduct a Science Experiment! She enjoys curating playlists, playing video games, and indulging in warm memes on a cold day. You can find Andrea online at andreabelldraws.com or on Instagram @andyharvest.

Learn more about this illustrator