Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Memoirs of an Addicted Brain

Memoirs of an Addicted Brain

A Neuroscientist Examines his Former Life on Drugs

A neuroscientist’s unique and fascinating journey into his own addiction–for readers of Oliver Sacks and Andrew Solomon

Marc Lewis’s relationship with drugs began in a New England boarding school where, as a bullied and homesick fifteen-year-old, he made brief escapes from reality by way of cough medicine, alcohol, and marijuana. In Berkeley, California, in its hippie heyday, he found methamphetamine and LSD and heroin; he sniffed nitrous oxide in Malaysia; and frequented Calcutta’s opium dens. Ultimately, though, his journey took him where it takes most addicts: into a life of desperation, deception, and crime.

But unlike most addicts, Lewis recovered to become a developmental psychologist and researcher in neuroscience. In Memoirs of an Addicted Brain, he applies his professional expertise to a study of his former self, using the story of his own journey through addiction to tell the universal story of addictions of every kind.
Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / Science / Life Sciences / Neuroscience

On Sale: March 6th 2012

Price: $11.99

Page Count: 336

ISBN-13: 9781610391481

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews