Healer and warrior must find the courage to save their people, expose the truth, and face the devastating consequences headed their way in the sequel to Rosemarked by New York Times bestselling author Livia Blackburne.

The mission was a failure. Even though Zivah and Dineas discovered a secret that could bring down the empire, their information is useless without proof. Now, with their cover blown and their quest abandoned, their only remaining hope is to get home before Ampara brings the full might of its armies against their peoples.

As Shidadi and Dara alike prepare for war, Zivah and Dineas grapple with the toll of their time in the capital. After fighting alongside the Amparans against his own kin, can Dineas convince the Shidadi—and himself—where his loyalties lie? After betraying her healer's vows in Sehmar City, can Zivah find a way to redeem herself—especially when the Dara ask her to do the unthinkable? And after reluctantly falling in love, what will the two do with their lingering feelings, now that the Dineas from Sehmar City is gone forever?

And when Zivah's plague symptoms surface once again, she must decide how she'll define the life she has left…. How do you fight a war when the enemy is within? Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi, this epic fantasy novel delves into complex ethical dilemmas and has palpable tension between the two romantic leads.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Praise for Umbertouched:

 
"This is an engrossing story with potential for deep discussion on loyalty, ethics, and the true meaning of strength."—Booklist
"Blackburne adds to the construction of her story with strong thematic bricks, exploring ideas such as loyalty and trust, as well as compassion and inner peace."—Teenreads
Praise for Rosemarked:
An Amazon Best Book of November 2017
YALSA Teens Top Ten Nominee
Tome Society It List Nominee
Truman Award Final Nominee 2019-2020
"This is a fast-paced, well-written, can't-put-down fantasy that will appeal to a wide audience."—SLJ
"Readers will be rewarded with an intricately choreographed conclusion and a high-stakes cliffhanger that sets up a sequel. Arguments against prejudice share the page with questions of faith in the face of tragedy. "—Publishers Weekly
"Readers will find the characters engaging, and they will have a sense of the intriguing tribal histories behind them.
A dark tale filled with tension and secrets and lightened by two brave companions."—Kirkus Reviews
"Blackburne’s latest is an engaging, mesmerizing read. With a clever, unique, premise, readers will be drawn into this story from the start."—RT Book Reviews
Read More Read Less

A Rosemarked Novel