Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Stranger Inside

The Stranger Inside

What if you came home to find a stranger living in your house? A chilling, suspenseful psychological drama in the tradition of Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty, by the Edgar and ITW Thriller Award nominated author Laura Benedict.

YOU PUT YOUR KEY IN THE LOCK. The door won’t open.
THE HOUSE SHOULD BE EMPTY. But someone else is here.

There’s a stranger living in Kimber Hannon’s house. He tells the police that he has every right to be there, and he has the paperwork to prove it.Kimber definitely didn’t invite this man to move in. He tells her that he knows something about her, and he wants everyone else to know it too.

“I was there. I saw what you did.”

These words reveal a connection to Kimber’s distant past, and dark secrets she’d long ago left buried. This trespasser isn’t after anything as simple as her money or her charming Craftsman bungalow. He wants to move into her carefully orchestrated life-and destroy it.

Read More

Genre: Fiction / Fiction / Contemporary Women

On Sale: February 5th 2019

Price: $27

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9780316444927

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Suspenseful and moving, The Stranger Inside gripped me from the first page. Laura Benedict is at the top of her game."—Meg Gardiner, author of Into the Black Nowhere
Read More Arrow Icon
"Can you imagine the nightmare of a stranger taking over your house? The terror you would feel? With The Stranger Inside, Laura Benedict turns her unique voice in suspense to this elegant scary mystery, where nothing is as it seems and one woman's truth is shattered by the hidden secrets of her past."—J.T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author of Lie to Me
Read More Arrow Icon
"The Stranger Inside is an intense, fascinating character study that will have you rooting for Kimber while she turns her life around and tries to stay alive."
Catherine Coulter, New York Times bestselling author of Paradox
Read More Arrow Icon
"Benedict spins a story driven by deceit on the part of most of the principals, with tension increasing with the body count and the twists and turns that continue to the very end."
Booklist
Read More Arrow Icon
"The Stranger Inside is a twisty, compelling thriller. Laura Benedict takes hold of your throat and doesn't let go until the final page."
Jeff Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Three Beths
Read More Arrow Icon
"Compelling characters, lush settings, complex emotions--all in a clever plot and spiced with a hint of darkness. These are the trademarks of Laura Benedict's writing. I've followed her career for years and she never disappoints. This new book, The Stranger Inside, is no exception. But a warning--once you pick it up, you will yield your life to the power of a great storyteller."—Carolyn Haines, bestselling author of the Sarah Booth Delaney mysteries and The House of Memory
Read More Arrow Icon