In a New York Minute

Contributors

By Kate Spencer

Read by Amanda Dolan

Read by Neil Hellegers

Formats and Prices

Price

$27.99

Format

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around March 15, 2022. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

A clever, tender, and romantic "Nora Ephron romp for the modern ages" (Christina Lauren) for readers of Jasmine Guillory, Abby Jimenez, and Sophie Cousens, this laugh-out-loud debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor, and that love can happen . . . In a New York Minute.

Franny Doyle is having the worst day. She’s been laid off from her (admittedly mediocre) job, the subway doors ripped her favorite silk dress to ruins, and now she’s flashed her unmentionables to half of lower Manhattan. On the plus side, a dashing stranger came to her rescue with his (Gucci!) suit jacket. On the not-so-plus side, he can’t get away from her fast enough.

Worse yet? Someone posted their (entirely not) meet-cute online. Suddenly Franny and her knight-in-couture, Hayes Montgomery III, are the newest social media sensation, and all of New York is shipping #SubwayQTs.

Only Franny and Hayes couldn’t be a more disastrous match. She’s fanciful, talkative, and creative. He’s serious, shy, and all about numbers. Luckily, in a city of eight million people, they never have to meet again. Yet somehow, Hayes and Franny keep running into each other—and much to their surprise, they enjoy each other’s company. A lot. But when Franny’s whole world is turned upside down (again!), can she find the courage to trust in herself and finally have the life—and love—she’s always wanted?

“Spins a catastrophic meet-cute into a richly realized romance that's surrounded by even more love stories—between friends, between families, and between New Yorkers and their city. You'll devour it.”
—Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, USA Today bestselling authors of The Royal We and The Heir Affair
 
“A love story to friendship, discovering what—and who—makes you feel truly yourself, and New York City. I flew through this book and enjoyed every moment!
—Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of While We Were Dating
 
“A sparkling delight about found and chosen family, being brave even in the tiny moments, and the rewards we can reap when we put our authentic selves out there. What a sweet, hilarious treat.”
—Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author
 
“A frolicky, playful rom-com about finding Mr. Right when everything else goes wrong.”
—Abby Jimenez, New York Times bestselling author of Life’s Too Short
                                                                       
“A perfect New York romance, as sweet, steamy, and surprising as the city itself.”
—Abbi Waxman, USA Today bestselling author of The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
 
“If you’re looking for the perfect ‘meet cute,’ look no further.  Adorable banter and countless laugh-out-loud moments makes this charming romance a true delight.”
—Farrah Rochon, USA Today bestselling author of The Dating Playbook

  • “Spins a catastrophic meet-cute into a richly realized romance that's surrounded by even more love stories—between friends, between families, and between New Yorkers and their city. You'll devour it.”
    Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, USA Today bestselling authors of The Royal We and The Heir Affair
  • Sincere, tender, and charming as hell. Kate Spencer's debut novel is a love story to friendship, discovering what—and who—makes you feel truly yourself, and New York City. I flew through this book and enjoyed every moment!
    Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of While We Were Dating
  • “A Nora Ephron romp for the modern age, IN A NEW YORK MINUTE serves up a subway meet cute that goes viral before it goes very wrong—and then delivers an absorbing, heart-achingly good HEA. With characters so boisterous and loyal you’ll want to send them cards on their birthdays (and bagels, lots of bagels), and a stoic, fumbling, romantic dream of a hero, Kate Spencer’s novel is a sparkling delight about found and chosen family, being brave even in the tiny moments, and the rewards we can reap when we put our authentic selves out there. What a sweet, hilarious treat.”
    Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author
  • “A frolicky, playful rom-com about finding Mr. Right when everything else goes wrong.”
    Abby Jimenez, New York Times bestselling author of Life’s Too Short
  • “A perfect New York romance, as sweet, steamy, and surprising as the city itself.”
    Abbi Waxman, USA Today bestselling author of The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
  • “If you’re looking for the perfect ‘meet cute,’ look no further.  Adorable banter and countless laugh-out-loud moments makes this charming romance a true delight.”
    Farrah Rochon, USA Today bestselling author of The Dating Playbook
  • "A New York minute is all the time you'll take to gobble up this hilarious, heartwarming story of missed connections, friends as family, and Big Apple magic." 
    Georgia Clark, author of It Had to Be You
  • "It's sure to be a rom-com classic!"
    Maureen Goo, author of Somewhere Only We Know
  • "Sweet, with a touch of steam and a lot of laughs . . . I adored the hilarious, memorable meet-cute and wanted to hang out with Franny and her friends. The vibrant New York setting was the perfect backdrop to ride along with Hayes and Franny as their lives were turned upside down by love. A delightful debut!"
    Farah Heron, author of Accidentally Engaged

On Sale
Mar 15, 2022
Publisher
Hachette Audio
ISBN-13
9781549166549

Kate Spencer

About the Author

Kate Spencer was the co-host of the award-winning podcast Forever35 and is the author of In a New York Minute and The Dead Moms Club. Her written work has been published by The Washington Post, Rolling Stone, Esquire, InStyle, Cosmopolitan, Buzzfeed, and numerous other places. Previously, she worked as a senior editor and producer at VH1. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two daughters.

Learn more about this author