Moment of Glory

The Year Underdogs Ruled Golf


By John Feinstein

Formats and Prices




$28.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around May 19, 2011. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

After winning 6 of the 12 Majors from 2000 to 2002, Tiger Woods struggled in 2003. Four unknown golf players — Mike Weir, Jim Furyk, Ben Curtis, and Shaun Micheel — would seize the day, rising to become champions in his wake.

Mike Weir — considered a good golfer but not a great one — triumphed in The Masters, becoming the first Canadian to win a Major. Jim Furyk emerged victorious in the U.S. Open. In the British Open, Ben Curtis became the only player since Francis Ouimet in 1913 to prevail on his first time out, and Shaun Micheel came from nowhere to prevail at the PGA Championship. How does one moment of glory affect the unsung underdog for years to follow?

In Moment of Glory, John Feinstein returns to the unlikely year of 2003 and chronicles the personal and professional struggles of these four players. With great affection for the underdog and extraordinary access to the players, he then looked to the 2008 season, giving readers an insider’s look into how winning (and losing) major championships changes players’ lives.



    "John Feinstein's golf books have succeeded in giving equal billing to headliners and journeymen...Feinstein's genius is his ability to peel back several layers on the personalities involved that year, reminding you in the process that even the most obscure players have a story worth telling."
    Sam Weinman, Golf Digest
  • "With unprecedented access, Feinstein provides readers with a true behind the scenes look at the 2003 major championships...A quite enjoyable book. If you're a true fan of the game-young or old-Moment of Glory is a book that's certainly worth reading, and if you've already read it, it's one of those books that you just might read again."
    Michael Fitzpatrick, "Bleacher Report"
  • "John Feinstein...has done perhaps as much for golf writing as Arnold Palmer has for golf."
    Ron Rappaport, Washington Monthly
  • "[Feinstein is] one of the best modern day sports writers."
    Virginia Golfer
  • "Feinstein is the most successful sportswriter in America....He has the gift of re-creating events known to us all while infusing them with excitement, even suspense."
    Jay Nordlinger, Wall Street Journal
  • "Feinstein writes passionately and sensitively, and his research is top-notch. His access to the players--tour vetrans, rising rookies, and journeymen...weave a compelling narrative."
    Tampa Tribune
  • "The best chronicler in sports journalism."
    Craig Smith, Seattle Times
  • "John Feinstein is a reporter par excellence, amazingly adept at getting past the publicity curtain and getting people to open up their live, their hope and fears."
    The State (South Carolina)
  • "John Feinstein has become sportswriting's John Grisham."
    David Kindred, Sporting News
  • "Feinstein makes you care."
    Bruce Fetts, Entertainment Weekly
  • "One of the best sportswriters alive."
    Larry King, USA Today

On Sale
May 19, 2011
Page Count
368 pages
Back Bay Books

John Feinstein

About the Author

John Feinstein is the author of forty-five books, including two #1 New York Times bestsellers, A Season on the Brink and A Good Walk Spoiled. His mystery novel, Last Shot, won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for mystery writing in the Young Adult category. He is a member of six Halls of Fame and is a contributing columnist for The Washington Post. Additionally, he does color commentary for VCU basketball, George Mason basketball, and Longwood basketball. He is also does commentary for the Navy radio network and is a regular on The Sports Junkies in his hometown of Washington, DC.

Learn more about this author