Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Devils & Thieves

Devils & Thieves

A thrilling new urban fantasy filled with magic and motorcycles from Jennifer Rush, author of the Altered saga–perfect for fans of Beautiful Creatures.

 

Eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael is surrounded by magic in the quiet town of Hawthorne, New York. In her world, magic users are called “kindled,” and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. To make matters worse, she was recently snubbed by Crowe-the dangerous and enigmatic leader of Hawthorne’s kindled motorcycle gang, the Devils’ League. When the entire kindled community rolls into Hawthorne for an annual festival, a rumor spreads that someone is practicing forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. With threats closing in from every side, no one can be trusted. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones, and the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her abilities. For all her years of feeling useless, Jemmie may just be the most powerful kindled of all. Sexy and suspenseful, Devils and Thieves delivers on the bewitching combination of magic and motorcycle gangs.
Read More

Genre: Teen & Young Adult / Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary

On Sale: October 3rd 2017

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 336

ISBN-13: 9780316390866

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

Praise for Devils & Thieves:

* "Rush has given a lot of thought to her world-building here, and the result is a fascinating new world where magic and crime intersect. Urban fantasy is hard to get just right in YA, but she succeeds completely. Teen readers will find a lot to love about Jemmie's complicated life, and they will definitely leave wanting more."—Booklist (starred review)

Read More Arrow Icon
"It's a juicy plot, and the drama starts thick and heavy and doesn't let up right until the last page...The pace is quick, with an effective balance of romance, angst, and magic."

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Read More Arrow Icon

""Harry Potter" meets Sons of Anarchy...Rush manages to weave a compelling sensual tapestry around a crew of gorgeous, Jack Daniels-swilling magicians, making this a darkly charged page-turner for older fantasy fans. ­Purchase where ­Bardugo and Holly Black fantasies are popular."—SLJ

Read More Arrow Icon

"The fast-paced suspense builds throughout the novel, and the magic in the story is depicted through beautiful and sometimes horrific imagery."—School Library Connection

Read More Arrow Icon
Praise for The Altered Series:
"Within minutes, this medical-engineering thriller will have readers glued to their seats....Riveting."

Kirkus Reviews

Read More Arrow Icon

"Action-packed...[Anna's] interactions with the boys...keep the story moving quickly, along with a steady unfolding of revelations and events."—Publishers Weekly

Read More Arrow Icon

"Rush keeps it fresh with this fast-paced novel, full of last-minute surprises and unexpected twists . . . The mysteries laced throughout the action add suspense, making the moments of romance even hotter."—Romantic Times

Read More Arrow Icon