Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

Call Me Hope

Call Me Hope

Now with a new cover! A heartwrenching and poignant novel about a young girl dealing with verbal abuse perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.

Hope Elliot is struggling to live under the pressures of her verbally abusive mother. But instead of running away, precocious Hope chooses resilience instead, and creates survival strategies for herself.

Her strategies include: a support team that includes the employees of a used clothing store, the smartest kid in the sixth grade, her older brother; and a point system to help deal with her mom. Will Hope find a way to confront her mother and help things change for the better?
Read More

Genre: Children's Books / Juvenile Fiction / Family / Parents

On Sale: June 1st 2008

Price: $5.99

Page Count: 288

ISBN-13: 9780316012393

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

Praise for Call Me Hope:
A Borders Original Voices selection
A Book Sense Pick

"Hope is a winsome character whose bravery and determination will resonate with middle-grade readers." -- Booklist

"Children who can identify with Hope's predicament will find solace in this book as well as tips for survival." -- Publishers Weekly

"A compelling and rewarding read."--School Library Journal

"The resilience of Hope Elliot will inspire and console readers of all ages."--VOYA

Praise for Joyride:
A Booklist Top Ten Notable Book
Society of School Librarians International Honor Book
Oregon Book Award finalist

"Olson knows how to keep readers turning the pages."
-Kirkus