Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group’s updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

My Fair Junkie

My Fair Junkie

A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman’s twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy’s money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly “brandished” a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for “felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon.”

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward–and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard “chain gang,” she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl’s Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner’s My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman’s battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs

On Sale: September 12th 2017

Price: $27 / $35 (CDN)

Page Count: 256

ISBN-13: 9780316430951

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

reader reviews

Praise

"Dresner's book is a sickening masterpiece. Hilarious and raw, she cuts
to bony truth. I love her!"—Margaret Cho

"Mortifying,
hilarious, unsparing, and weirdly life-affirming, My Fair Junkie hits the
ground screaming and never lets up. As with all great 'drug memoirs,' the
subject of this raw, squirm-fest of an autobiography is not drugs, but what
made drugs necessary: the twisted history and relatably depraved torments of
the author's own strung-out heart. For fans of Beyond Shame, low-bottom
recollectors like Augusten Burroughs and Stephen Elliot, Amy Dresner has earned
her spot on the shelf."—Jerry Stahl, author of Permanent Midnight

"Funny, raw, real,
and moving. Amy's memoir digs deep inside the world of addiction and takes you
on a ride you'd pay to go on again. Amy, like addiction, is a complicated beast
that needs to be unraveled and exposed to understand--and she does just that in My
Fair Junkie
, an incredible read." Amber Tozer, author of Sober Stick Figure

"I loved this
book! Amy Dresner is the real deal; a fiercely funny writer whose insights into
addiction and recovery--and life--are full of truth, free of
self-pity, sometimes scathing, often poignant, irresistibly page-turning, and
painfully hilarious."—Stephen Guirgis, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright

"The story she tells
is hysterically funny at one moment and utterly harrowing the next--and often
manages to be both those things at once."—Lawrence Block, New York Times bestselling and award-winning crime novelist, journalist, and author of the short story collection Enough Rope

"Hypnotic,
magical, mesmerizing. Truly great. Amy Dresner is the most startlingly alert,
poetic, stunning writer I have come across in decades. She is a real talent
such as one rarely encounters."—Ben Stein, lawyer, economist, actor, and author of How to Ruin Your Financial Life

"One of the
funniest, most heart wrenching, real, raw, touching, revelatory, and beautiful
memoirs I've ever read. It transcends just the addiction lit genre to become
something far more universal-something profoundly human-and
captivating. I found myself laughing out loud over and over again, while, at
the same time, being deeply moved by Dresner's account of addiction to more
than just substances, but the need for connection in this increasingly
disparate and fractured world."—Nic Sheff, author of Tweak and We All Fall Down

"Fascinating.
Uncomfortable....This book is a confessional and an indictment. I've loved girls
like Amy and they drug my heart through a human sewer of addiction. I've used
girls like Amy and I only feigned to care. Why do I find this so fucking
attractive? Well-written. Believable."—Jack Grisham, author of An American Demon

"Amy Dresner breaks my heart into a million pieces--and then slowly helps me put myself back together again. This is a wonderful
book, filled with a frenetic mixture of
snappy dialogue and terrifying truth."—Peter Scolari

"Dresner, a former stand-up comic and current contributing editor for The Fix, writes about her
recovery from drug and alcohol abuse with honesty and irreverent humor. . . .
Readers meet Dresner at her worst, but she nevertheless charms throughout her
healing."—Publishers Weekly

"Effortlessly candid and wryly
written chronicle of a life hijacked by drugs, booze, and bad behavior. As a
noted West Hollywood stand-up comedian and addiction journalist, she handles
this complex tale with wit ... A hard-knocks addiction memoir buoyed with humor
and insight."
Kirkus

"In
Dresner's unflinchingly honest, graphic, and darkly comedic account of her life
as a junkie and the struggle to come clean, readers will find strength in the
humanity of those at their lowest. Dresner brings humility, wit, and
sensitivity to a topic many readers are unfamiliar with, and those that are
will recognize her truths."—Booklist

"Like Carrie Fisher's 1987 autobiographical novel, Postcards From the Edge, and Mary Karr's 2009 memoir, Lit, Amy Dresner's story of addiction and recovery, My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Stay Clean (Hachette Books), is one for the ages."—Elle

"Dresner's story of drugs, sex and a handful of
other addictions is wickedly funny and hauntingly honest."—FASHION magazine

"Darkly funny, the memoir reckons with demons--sex addiction, drugs, and the quest for sobriety--in brutally honest,
entertaining prose."—Refinery29