Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Claiming Noah

Claiming Noah

This riveting debut novel of psychological suspense explores the dilemmas that arise when motherhood and science collide.

Catriona Sinclair has always had a well-developed sense of independence–in fact the one sore point in her otherwise happy marriage is her husband James’s desire to take care of her. As she’s often tried to explain to him, she took care of herself before she met him, and did a good job of it. But James has been especially attentive lately as they struggle to have a baby. They succeed at last through in vitro fertilization, but unwilling to risk the heartbreak of another miscarriage, they decide to make their “spare” frozen embryo available to another family.

Diana and Liam Simmons are desperate for a child. Unable to conceive, they are overjoyed to learn that as the closest genetic match to the Sinclairs they are the recipients of the embryo donation. Diana’s only concern is her mother’s disapproval of IVF, but any doubts raised are quickly eclipsed by Diana’s joy of being pregnant.

As Diana is finding delight in every aspect of motherhood, Catriona keeps waiting for the rush of adoration she knows she is supposed to feel, but instead slips into a deep depression. Just as Catriona begins to find her way back to normalcy, one of the babies is kidnapped. Suddenly, all of their lives begin to unravel and intertwine, and none of them will ever be the same.
Read More

Genre: Fiction / Fiction / Contemporary Women

On Sale: July 5th 2016

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 384

ISBN-13: 9781455565979

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Riveting, fast-paced, and fluidly written, this is an intensely emotional read. Ortlepp's heart-wrenching debut would be great for book clubs owing to the many ethical questions raised in the novel. Fans of Brooke Shields's Down Came the Rain and Iris ­Johansen's "Eve Duncan" series will appreciate this compelling tale. VERDICT: A captivating novel for those who read for character as well as enthusiasts of women's fiction.—Library Journal starred review
Read More Arrow Icon
Australian author Amanda Ortlepp's first novel, set in Sydney, is a gripping, emotionally charged story....—Herald Sun
Read More Arrow Icon
This is an intriguing tale.—RT Book Reviews
Read More Arrow Icon
"CLAIMING NOAH is a compelling novel from a new voice in fiction."—Culture Street
Read More Arrow Icon
"Complex and thought-provoking, CLAIMING NOAH is one of those books that invites opinions and discussions."—The Blurb Magazine
Read More Arrow Icon
"[CLAIMING NOAH] will tug at your heartstrings as it considers the very sensitive issues of infertility, IVF and embryo donation."—Styling You
Read More Arrow Icon
"Some of the most endearing characters I have ever read about."—Aussie Bookworm
Read More Arrow Icon
"What Ortlepp does so well is bring the characters to life...with exposed fears, entrenched defensive mechanisms and the everyday push and pull of relationships."—The Australian Bookshelf
Read More Arrow Icon

Reader Reviews