40

A Novel
By Travis Thrasher (Trade Paperback, 2011)
Nine months shy of hs 40th birthday, freelance music producer Tyler Harrison has started to experience horrific hallucinations. At first, he thinks it's just the stress of his job, but the hallucinations continue until they culminate at the three-day concert in Chicago, Lollapalloza, which he is covering for work. There he is approached by an older man who tells him that he's going to die on his fortieth birthday.
The man claims to be an angel named Matthew, and even though he gives Tyler enough evidence to convince him he's telling the truth, he doesn't know what to do with the information.
Tyler's underlying doubt and confusion about Matthew's prediction turn to anger, both at God and those around him. As he begins to exhibit destructive behavior, he befriends Ellis, an internationally known DJ. Tyler is scared that he really is about to die. He's scared for his sanity. He's scared that if he does die, he's not going to Heaven. He also soon becomes scared of Ellis, who is wild and opens up a door of temptation to Tyler.
As Tyler begins falling in a downward spiral of fear and confusion, he reaches out to a pastor he met, Will, and tries to right his wrongs with some of the important people in his life in a desperate attempt to find peace before his 40th birthday.
  • FaithWords
    • Format: Trade Paperback

    • Price: $13.99 US/$15.50 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780446505512

    • On Sale Date: 05/04/2011

    • Publisher: FaithWords

    Formats Available: Trade Paperback, Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

Nine months shy of hs 40th birthday, freelance music producer Tyler Harrison has started to experience horrific hallucinations. At first, he thinks it's just the stress of his job, but the hallucinations continue until they culminate at the three-day concert in Chicago, Lollapalloza, which he is covering for work. There he is approached by an older man who tells him that he's going to die on his fortieth birthday.
The man claims to be an angel named Matthew, and even though he gives Tyler enough evidence to convince him he's telling the truth, he doesn't know what to do with the information.
Tyler's underlying doubt and confusion about Matthew's prediction turn to anger, both at God and those around him. As he begins to exhibit destructive behavior, he befriends Ellis, an internationally known DJ. Tyler is scared that he really is about to die. He's scared for his sanity. He's scared that if he does die, he's not going to Heaven. He also soon becomes scared of Ellis, who is wild and opens up a door of temptation to Tyler.
As Tyler begins falling in a downward spiral of fear and confusion, he reaches out to a pastor he met, Will, and tries to right his wrongs with some of the important people in his life in a desperate attempt to find peace before his 40th birthday.

The author of twelve works of fiction, Travis Thrasher creates flawed characters and takes them on harrowing journeys of redemption. He and his wife, Sharon, live with their daughter in Chicago, IL. For more information about Travis, visit www.travisthrasher.com.
  • "Thrasher just keeps getting better." (Publishers Weekly on Ghostwriter ).

  • "Thrasher . . . demonstrates a considerable talent for the horror genre. Like Stephen King, Thrasher pits flawed but likable characters against evil forces that at first seem escapable but gradually take on a terrifying ubiquity." (Publishers Weekly on Isolation ).

  • "Ghostwriter twists like a corkscrew. It's a page-turner-and I didn't see the ending coming." (Meg Gardiner, author of The Dirty Secrets Club ).

  • "Travis Thrasher is truly one of my favorite authors. Here he creates a new twist on the classic ghost story, blending elements of the supernatural together with real-life horror. Ghostwriter is a moving story about love, loss, and the creative forces that drive people to madness." (Sigmund Brouwer, bestselling author of Broken Angel ).

  • "Isolation proved that Thrasher has what it takes to scare the wits out of his audience while challenging them at the same time. Ghostwriter takes Thrasher's writing to a whole new level of terror and heart. . . . Ghostwriter is the kind of gem that comes along far too seldom; displaying the kind of writing that deserves to be devoured by the masses." (Jake Chism, TheChristianManifesto.com ).

  • "Each time I read a novel by Travis Thrasher, I close the cover and tell myself that was his best. But I find it hard to imagine that Thrasher is going to be able to surpass Broken easily....the story literally drove me to tears...The action is intense, the pace breakneck, the aura of mystery palpable, the sense of the supernatural mysterious...In the vein of Isolation and Ghostwriter, Thrasher gives us Broken, one of his best stories to date." (Josh Olds, The Christian Critic).

  • "In Broken, Travis Trasher improves again on his gifted ability to write severely flawed characters and place them in suspenseful situations that keep readers turning the pages." (May 2010, CBA Retailers and Resources).

Formats

Product Details

40
  • Publisher: FaithWords
  • Price: $13.99 US/$15.50 CAN
  • Pages: 432
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/4" x 8"
  • ISBN-13: 9780446505512
  • On Sale Date: 05/04/2011
Also By This Author
40