Welcome to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers!
The Order of the Unicorn

download cover

The Order of the Unicorn

Suzanne Selfors facebook twitter

Dan Santat

$16.00 US | $18.00 CAN
Available July 22, 2014

Hardcover Paperback Ebook
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Age Range: 7-12
  • Grade Level: 2-7
  • Pages: 208
  • Dimensions: 5-1/4" x 7-5/8"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316364065

  About The Book

Eager for their next day as apprentices to Dr. Woo, vet for imaginary creatures, Pearl and Ben are greeted at the door with some bad news. A vial of fairy dust has gone missing, enough for two trips through The Portal. Dr. Woo knows it was taken by Maximus Steele, a poacher who collects horns from exotic and endangered animals. What creature will he attack next? Dr. Woo suspects it will be a unicorn.

Together, Pearl, Ben, and Dr. Woo travel through The Portal. Destination: The Tangled Forest. It's an amazing, colorful, and wild place. But when Ben and Dr. Woo become entangled in some sort of overfriendly plant, it's up to Pearl to find the missing unicorn. As luck would have it, Pearl has worn her leprechaun shoes, which she discovers allow her to walk without making a sound. She is able to approach the missing unicorn, who has been separated from her herd, and given birth. Pearl helps to care for the newborn and is rewarded with a long strand of unicorn mane. Meanwhile, the unicorn herd rescues Ben and Dr. Woo.

Back at the hospital, Dr. Woo braids the strand of unicorn mane and clips it into Pearl's hair. She's now an official member of the Order of the Unicorn. Dr. Woo smiles and pulls back her own hair, revealing an identical braid hidden beneath.

Suzanne Selfors delivers an unforgettable journey filled with astounding creatures and hilarious adventures that are anything but imaginary.



Praise for the Imaginary Veterinary series:

"The best books are those in which imaginary creatures leap off the page and into our world -- just one of the reasons why this book is a ton of fun. I can't wait for more adventures!"
—Wendy Mass, New York Times bestselling author of The Candymakers

"An entertaining story that will pique readers' interest from the first dragon sighting....Santat's characteristically dynamic illustrations complement a story that will have readers eager for the next book in the Imaginary Veterinary series." Publishers Weekly


Selfors, Suzanne (1077697)

Suzanne Selfors is a national best selling author of the Ever After High School Stories series, the Imaginary Veterinary series, the Smells Like Dog series, and many other books. She's earned five Junior Library Guild Awards and a WA State Book Award. She's been a Kid's Indie Pick, a Scholastic Book Fair bestseller, and been included in Bank Street's 100th Edition of Best Children's Books, Smithsonian Magazine's Notable Children's Books, and Amazon's Best Children's Books.

She lives on an island in the Pacific Northwest where rain falls like music and horses are beloved.

DreamWorks Spirit Riding Free © 2017 DreamWorks Animation LLC. All Rights Reserved.