Welcome to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers!
Burn

download cover

Burn

Suzanne Phillips facebook twitter


$7.99 US | None CAN
Available Dec. 8, 2009

Paperback Ebook
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Age Range: 12 & up
  • Grade Level: 7-17
  • Pages: 288
  • Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316001663
Preview


  About The Book

'I killed someone today.'
The thought curls around his brains, picks at it like a piece of flint.
His head hurts. Hurts worse than it ever did.

I KILLED SOMEONE.

It's hard to turn on the news and not wonder how safe our schools really are. This novel explores what happens when bullying escalates to violence, and it challenges our definition of victimization.

With thought-provoking prose, Suzanne Phillips explores the psyche of Cameron, a bullied freshman who ultimately does the unthinkable: he kills another student. As she did with Chloe Doe, Suzanne has found a way to make this seemingly dark story ultimately redemptive. But she also dares readers to look at the behavior that inspires violence as having the potential to be as dangerous as the violence itself. It's Suzanne's hope that Burn will inspire readers to take a precautionary stance against bullying rather than waiting to react to it.




  Praise

Praise for Burn
"In an age of school violence, this thought-provoking, incisive story will have staying power." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Phillips provides just enough nuanced details of sexual assault and violence yet masterfully avoids sensationalism." -SLJ, starred review

"The escalation of the bullying and violence against Cameron is chilling and is vividly expressed in the book's tone...This book offers a unique perspective of a victim who becomes a predator as a result of the abuse he suffers at the hands of his peers." -VOYA

Praise for Chloe Doe
*"The language is sharp and engaging, even lyrical at times, and her emergence from a kind of living death (she sleeps in a coffin-like cardboard box in a room without windows) into a life with direction and purpose, but not without tragedy and disappointment, is believable." -KLIATT, starred review

"Give this intense and emotional debut to fans of Ellen Hopkins and Patricia McCormick, as well as E.R. Frank." -Booklist

"Readers will stay with Chloe's story. This hard look at one life in a lockdown facility may appeal to fans of Adam Rapp and Ellen Hopkins." -Kirkus 

"Readers will be drawn to her tragic story and be heartened by her ability to work her way through tough circumstances." -The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books 

"An intense but fulfilling read...Phillips is excellent at letting the story of Chloe's troubled childhood unfold with just enough mystery to keep readers engaged." - VOYA

"Readers will be captivated throughout by Chloe's voice." -Horn Book



  Author

Suzanne Phillips is a special education English teacher and the author of the critically acclaimed novel Chloe Doe. It is her hope that Burn will inspire readers to take a precautionary stance against bullying rather than waiting to react to it. She lives in San Diego.



You Might Also Like