Receive a Free Ebook When You Join Our Mailing List!

Careless Love (Enhanced Edition)
Careless Love (Enhanced Edition)

Careless Love (Enhanced Edition)

The Unmaking of Elvis Presley

Careless Love is the full, true, and mesmerizing story of Elvis Presley's last two decades, in the long-awaited second volume of Peter Guralnick's masterful two-part biography.

Last Train to Memphis, the first part of Guralnick's two-volume life of Elvis Presley, was acclaimed by the New York Times as "a triumph of biographical art." This concluding volume recounts the second half of Elvis' life in rich and previously unimagined detail, and confirms Guralnick's status as one of the great biographers of our time.

Beginning with Presley's army service in Germany in 1958 and ending with his death in Memphis in 1977, Careless Love chronicles the unravelling of the dream that once shone so brightly, homing in on the complex playing-out of Elvis' relationship with his Machiavellian manager, Colonel Tom Parker. It's a breathtaking revelatory drama that for the first time places the events of a too-often mistold tale in a fresh, believable, and understandable context.

Elvis' changes during these years form a tragic mystery that Careless Love unlocks for the first time. This is the quintessential American story, encompassing elements of race, class, wealth, sex, music, religion, and personal transformation. Written with grace, sensitivity, and passion, Careless Love is a unique contribution to our understanding of American popular culture and the nature of success, giving us true insight at last into one of the most misunderstood public figures of our times.

This enhanced edition includes:

  • Exclusive video footage going further into Colonel Parker's role in Elvis's postwar career as well as the conservation efforts taken to maintain the Presley archive.
  • Rare audio clips featuring audio engineer Billy Porter, musical director Billy Goldenberg, and bassist Jerry Schiff-all influential players in Elvis's post-war career.

Genre: Biography & Autobiography, Music

On Sale:

ISBN-13: 9780316206730

Little, Brown and Company