Like Family

Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir
By Paula McLain (Trade Paperback, 2004)
In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sThe Liar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.
  • Little, Brown and Company
    • Format: Trade Paperback

    • Price: $19.99 US/$22.00 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316909099

    • On Sale Date: 05/05/2004

    • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

    Formats Available: Trade Paperback, Electronic Book, Trade Paperback

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sThe Liar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

After leaving California in 1987, Paula McLain spent the next decade in personal and professional vagabondage. She has worked in auto plants and hospitals and has been a cocktail waitress, a Christmas tree salesperson, a pizza maker, and an English teacher. In 1996, she received her MFA from the University of Michigan. Since then she has been in residence at Bread Loaf, Yaddo and The MacDowell Colony. At work on a novel, she lives in Madison, Wisconsin.
  • "What makes LIKE FAMILY so remarkable are not the peculiar circumstances of Paula McLain's childhood but the depth of understanding that she brings to those circumstances, and the beautiful prose in which she renders that understanding. Seldom have I seen so vividly evoked the need to belong to some, any, kind of family and the painful negotiations that time brings to even our closest intimacies." (Library Journal).

Formats

Product Details

Like Family
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $19.99 US/$22.00 CAN
  • Pages: 288
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316909099
  • On Sale Date: 05/05/2004
Like Family