The End of Everything

A Novel
By Megan Abbott (Hardcover Book, 2011)
Thirteen-year old Lizzie Hood and her next door neighbor Evie Verver are inseparable. They are best friends who swap bathing suits and field-hockey sticks, and share everything that's happened to them. Together they live in the shadow of Evie's glamorous older sister Dusty, who provides a window on the exotic, intoxicating possibilities of their own teenage horizons. To Lizzie, the Verver household, presided over by Evie's big-hearted father, is the world's most perfect place.

And then, one afternoon, Evie disappears. The only clue: a maroon sedan Lizzie spotted driving past the two girls earlier in the day. As a rabid, giddy panic spreads through the Midwestern suburban community, everyone looks to Lizzie for answers. Was Evie unhappy, troubled, upset? Had she mentioned being followed? Would she have gotten into the car of a stranger?

Lizzie takes up her own furtive pursuit of the truth, prowling nights through backyards, peering through windows, pushing herself to the dark center of Evie's world. Haunted by dreams of her lost friend and titillated by her own new power at the center of the disappearance, Lizzie uncovers secrets and lies that make her wonder if she knew her best friend at all.
  • Little, Brown and Company
    • Format: Hardcover Book

    • Price: $23.99 US/$26.99 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316097796

    • On Sale Date: 07/07/2011

    • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

    • Imprint: Reagan Arthur Books

    Formats Available: Hardcover Book, Trade Paperback, Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

Thirteen-year old Lizzie Hood and her next door neighbor Evie Verver are inseparable. They are best friends who swap bathing suits and field-hockey sticks, and share everything that's happened to them. Together they live in the shadow of Evie's glamorous older sister Dusty, who provides a window on the exotic, intoxicating possibilities of their own teenage horizons. To Lizzie, the Verver household, presided over by Evie's big-hearted father, is the world's most perfect place.

And then, one afternoon, Evie disappears. The only clue: a maroon sedan Lizzie spotted driving past the two girls earlier in the day. As a rabid, giddy panic spreads through the Midwestern suburban community, everyone looks to Lizzie for answers. Was Evie unhappy, troubled, upset? Had she mentioned being followed? Would she have gotten into the car of a stranger?

Lizzie takes up her own furtive pursuit of the truth, prowling nights through backyards, peering through windows, pushing herself to the dark center of Evie's world. Haunted by dreams of her lost friend and titillated by her own new power at the center of the disappearance, Lizzie uncovers secrets and lies that make her wonder if she knew her best friend at all.

Megan Abbott is the Edgar-award winning author of four crime novels. She has taught literature, writing, and film at New York University, the New School and the State University of New York at Oswego. She received her Ph.D. in English and American literature from New York University in 2000. She lives in New York City.

  • "Megan Abbott: Superb storyteller, film noir scholar, deconstructionist suffused with a true artist's passion. Poised to ascend to the top rung of crime writing and quite possibly something beyond."--James Ellroy

  • "Writers such as James Ellroy, Richard Price, Dennis Lehane, Donald Westlake, Walter Mosley, Laura Lippman, James Sallis, Megan Abbott, and George Pelecanos have managed to infuse crime novels with a quality of writing not seen since the days of Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, and James M. Cain."--Malcolm Jones, Newsweek

  • "This is top-notch retro- noir. ... The narrative of Bury Me Deep has a dreamlike quality that mirrors the hazy existence of its protagonist. Marion often seems to be floating through life, and Abbott captures that feeling with the ethereal nature of her prose. . . . "--David Montgomery, The Chicago Sun-Times

  • "Abbott's giddy prose and dialogue zigzag from flowery to slangy, but she's always in control. While there's no real comparison to Fitzgerald, Bury Me Deep is reminiscent of The Great Gatsby in its uncanny scenes of drink and drugs. They were so powerful that I had the impression I was myself intoxicated."--Adam Woog, The Seattle Times

  • "If Cain boiled down Ellroy's complicated mixture of people, places and themes, dashed in his trademark cynicism and moral ambiguity, and filtered the brew with Chandler's masterful use of slang and dialogue, the result might have the flavor of Abbott's fiction."--Timothy J. Lockhart, The Virginian-Pilot

  • EARLY PRAISE FOR THE END OF EVERYTHING:

    "Megan Abbott is the perfect storyteller -- compelling, confounding and unconventional. And THE END OF EVERYTHING is a dark, twisted tale that will echo in the back of your mind long after you've closed the book."-Val McDermid, author of A PLACE OF EXECUTION, THE MERMAIDS SINGING, FEVER OF THE BONE, etc

  • "With the END OF EVERYTHING, Megan Abbott takes an insightful, sensuous coming-of-age tale and ties it to a freight train of a mystery. The result is a novel that's bold, unnerving, poignant and full of yearning-like that first teenage year itself."-Gillian Flynn, bestselling author of SHARP OBJECTS and DARK PLACES

  • "Lizzie's quest to find her missing best friend Evie, and make Evie's seemingly perfect family whole again, is riveting and heartbreaking.  Abbott's lyrical prose gives voice to a girl in the grips of profound loss and transformation.  This is a book that gets under your skin and stays there."-Jennifer McMahon, author of PROMISE NOT TO TELL and ISLAND OF LOST GIRLS

  • "Megan Abbott captures the essence of being thirteen - all its magic, its intensity and confusion, its headlong power and its terrible vulnerability - and wraps it in a story that's taut, unflinching and very hard to put down."-Tana French, author of IN THE WOODS 

  • "Megan Abbott is always a surprising writer, one with a liking for the raw and ambivalent side of life.  THE END OF EVERYTHING moves her away from the deeply satisfying pleasures of noir towards something more subtle, but still deft, enthralling and intelligent."-Kate Atkinson, author of STARTED EARLY, TOOK MY DOG

  • "This is a gripping and disturbing novel, a fever dream of adolescent desire and adult complicity. Megan Abbott writes with total authority and an almost desperate intensity; her story grabs hold of you and won't let go."-Tom Perrotta, author of LITTLE CHILDREN

  • "Stirring...[a] storytelling feat." (New York Times).

  • "A haunting story...evoke[s] the furtive blossoming of adolescent sexuality...that lies beneath the ice cream shops and sprinklered lawns of '80s suburbia." (Entertainment Weekly).

  • "Fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson will welcome Abbott's haunting psychological thriller ... Abbott expertly captures the nuances of lost innocence and childhood friendships, without ever losing an undercurrent of menace." (Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)).

  • "A mesmerizing psychological thriller and a freshly imagined coming-of-age story, will draw comparisons to The Lovely Bones." (Los Angeles Times).

  • "THE END OF EVERYTHING will haunt you as only a modern-day Lolita can." (Huffington Post).

  • "The writing is anything but typical, as Abbott's inventive use of language to build imagery reads more like poetry than prose." (Boston Globe).

  • "A sensitive, unconventional tale about the infinitely complex mystery of sexual awakening that lingers in the mind long after the book is finished." (The Guardian (UK)).

  • "THE END OF EVERYTHING is Abbott's most refined and rapturous offering yet." (Los Angeles Review of Books).

  • "An accomplished psychological thriller... a highly skilful novel, taut, addictive, full of stuff to keep you hungrily reading." (Sunday Times of London).

  • (Publishers Weekly).

Formats

Product Details

The End of Everything
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $23.99 US/$26.99 CAN
  • Pages: 256
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316097796
  • On Sale Date: 07/07/2011
The End of Everything

Reader Resources

Tours & Events

Tuesday, October 14th
In Conversation with Christian Jungersen
New York, New York

Categories

Genres
Fiction

Sub-Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / General

The End of Everything