Guilt by Degrees

By Marcia Clark (Hardcover Book, 2012)
Someone has been watching D.A. Rachel Knight--someone who's Rachel's equal in brains, but with more malicious intentions. It began when a near-impossible case fell into Rachel's lap, the suspectless homicide of a homeless man. In the face of courthouse backbiting and a gauzy web of clues, Rachel is determined to deliver justice. She's got back-up: tough-as-nails Detective Bailey Keller. As Rachel and Bailey stir things up, they're shocked to uncover a connection with the vicious murder of an LAPD cop a year earlier. Something tells Rachel someone knows the truth, someone who'd kill to keep it secret.

Harrowing, smart, and riotously entertaining, GUILT BY DEGREES is a thrilling ride through the world of LA courts with the unforgettable Rachel Knight.
  • Audiobook Excerpt

Someone has been watching D.A. Rachel Knight--someone who's Rachel's equal in brains, but with more malicious intentions. It began when a near-impossible case fell into Rachel's lap, the suspectless homicide of a homeless man. In the face of courthouse backbiting and a gauzy web of clues, Rachel is determined to deliver justice. She's got back-up: tough-as-nails Detective Bailey Keller. As Rachel and Bailey stir things up, they're shocked to uncover a connection with the vicious murder of an LAPD cop a year earlier. Something tells Rachel someone knows the truth, someone who'd kill to keep it secret.

Harrowing, smart, and riotously entertaining, GUILT BY DEGREES is a thrilling ride through the world of LA courts with the unforgettable Rachel Knight.

Marcia Clark began practicing law as a criminal defense attorney. She became a prosecutor in the L.A. District Attorney's Office in 1981, and spent ten years in the Special Trials Unit where she handled a number of high profile cases prior to the O.J. Simpson case, including the prosecution of stalker/murderer Robert Bardo, whose conviction for the murder of actress Rebecca Schaeffer resulted in legislation that offered victims better protection from stalkers as well as increased punishment for the offenders.

Since the Simpson trial, Ms. Clark has toured the U.S. and Canada giving lectures on a variety of women's issues including domestic violence and inspirational/motivational speeches, as well as lectures on the latest high profile cases, public service careers, and of course, the Trial of the Century.

In May of 1997, her book on the Simpson case, Without a Doubt was published and quickly rose to #1 on the New York Times, Wall St. Journal, Washington Post, LA Times, and Publisher's Weekly bestsellers lists.

From February 1998 to 2000 Marcia was under contract as a legal analyst and expert commentator for NBC, CNBC and MSNBC. She appeared weekly as the substitute host of Geraldo Rivera's "Rivera Live," and also hosted "Equal Time" for CNBC and "Judge and Jury" for MSNBC. Marcia has appeared on the "Oprah Winfrey Show," the "Larry King Show," the "Today" show, "The Early Show," and "Good Morning America," among others, and provides legal commentary on a wide variety of cable shows such as "Anderson Cooper 360" and "Issues with Jane Velez Mitchell."

Marcia Clark (with writing partner, Catherine LePard) has sold hour-long pilots to the FX network, Lifetime, and VH1 and developed a half hour comedy for NBC. She has also developed reality projects for CBS and was an executive producer of a one hour reality pilot for CBS.

Marcia has published three novels which feature Los Angeles Special Trials prosecutor Rachel Knight: Guilt by Association, Guilt by Degrees, and Killer Ambition, which is due out in June 2013. TNT has optioned the books and a drama series is currently in development. Marcia is attached as an executive producer. She's currently at work on her fourth novel.
  • "It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller." (James Patterson).

  • "This sequel to her remarkably accomplished debut, Guilt by Association (2010), proves that former prosecutor Clark is no one-book wonder...Clark has a winning cast of characters, a strong plot, and plenty of smart and sassy dialogue (particularly when Knight and her BFFs gather for after-work martinis), and she heightens interest in Knight's next appearance by establishing the psychopathic Bayer as her nemesis. A superlative series bringing together elements of both legal thrillers and police procedurals. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Clark's debut was something of a surprise success, both commercially and critically, but her publisher will hit the ground running this time, with an A-list marketing campaign" (Michele Leber, Booklist).

  • "Marcia Clark knows her villains, and GUILT BY DEGREES gives us one you won't forget.  She also gives us one of the toughest and most appealing heroes to come along in a very long time.  Prosecutor Rachel Knight is smart, funny, and just about fearless in her pursuit of justice and a good martini.  GUILT BY DEGREES kept me guessing to the last page - and then impatient to read more about Rachel Knight."

    (Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of High Crimes and Vanished).

  • "Clark humanizes her tough lead, and gets the mixture of action and investigative legwork just right, more than making the case for a long life for this West Coast analogue to Linda Fairstein's Alex Cooper." (- Publisher's Weekly (starred)).

  • Clark brings back Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight in this sequel to her well-received debut, Guilt by Association...Well-developed characters and a story arc that leaves the reader hanging are a surefire way to bring fans back for the next installment, and Clark has wisely left that door wide open. [This] should appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and David Baldacci. (Stacy Alesi, Library Journal).

  • "Given her background, it's no surprise that Clark's writing crackles with authenticity. The courtroom exchanges in her latest novel are crisp and brimming with tension. The lawyers, cops and bad guys feel real. The story is fast-paced and will keep readers interested to the end."  (Christian DuChateau, CNN.com).

  • "With GUILT BY DEGREES, Clark has managed to do the arduous and make it look easy: she has taken the strongest elements from an already assured debut and melded them into near perfection.  The dialogue is razor sharp, the humor laugh-out-loud funny, and the pacing relentless.  Further, Clark infuses the narrative with a wealth of expertly-informed details shaped by the years that she spent living and breathing her protagonist's life.  Bullets may fly on the page, but it's readers that will ultimately be blown away." (John Valeri, Hartford Books Examiner).

  • "The second Guilt book by author Marcia Clark reintroduces the tough D.A., Rachel Knight. And if readers liked her in the first, they will like her even better this time around... [the] book offers a more in-depth exploration of crime and punishment, which is-of course-what Marcia Clark is good at. The suspects are beyond interesting, and the plot is extremely dark, allowing the character of Rachel Knight to really shine through. A great thriller!" (Suspense Magazine).

  • (Publishers Weekly).

Product Details

Guilt by Degrees
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $25.99 US/$28.99 CAN
  • Pages: 448
  • Physical Dimensions: 6" x 9-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316129534
  • On Sale Date: 05/08/2012
Guilt by Degrees

Tours & Events

Sunday, August 17th
Litquake Palo Alto
Palo Alto, California

Guilt by Degrees