Welcome to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers!
Guardian of the Dead

download cover

Guardian of the Dead

Karen Healey facebook twitter


$8.99 US | $9.99 CAN
Available Aug. 3, 2011

Paperback Ebook
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Age Range: 12 & up
  • Grade Level: 7-17
  • Pages: 368
  • Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316044387
Preview


  About The Book

This is an intriguing YA urban fantasy in the tradition of Holly Black and Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely. Set in New Zealand, Ellie's main concerns at her boarding school are hanging out with her best friend Kevin, her crush on the mysterious Mark, and her paper deadline. That is, until a mysterious older woman seems to set her sights on Kevin, who is Maori, and has more than just romantic plans for him. In an effort to save him, Ellie is thrown into the world of Maori mythology, and eventually finds herself in an all-out war with mist-dwelling Maori fairy people who need human lives to gain immortality.

The strong, fresh voice of the narrator will pull readers in, along with all the deliciously scary details: the serial killer who removes victim's eyes; the mysterious crazy bum who forces a Bible on Ellie telling her she needs it; handsome, mysterious Mark who steals the Bible from her and then casts a forgetting charm on her. All of this culminates in a unique, incredible adventure steeped with mythology, Maori fairies, monsters, betrayal, and an epic battle.




  Praise

* "Healey has done a wonderful job... This story starts off fast and strong and just builds from there." School Library Journal, starred review

* "this book offers likeable characters with mythical heritage, reminiscent of Percy Jackson, tying together myth and reality into a cohesive whole." VOYA, starred review



  Author

Healey, Karen (1525481)

Karen Healey is the author of the Aurealis winner and William C. Morris Debut Award finalist Guardian of the Dead, The Shattering, and When We Wake. She technically lives in New Zealand, but actually lives on the internet. You can find her at www.karenhealey.com.



You Might Also Like