LB Kids

Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream

By Jenny Han (Hardcover Book, 2011)
Meet Clara Lee.

Likes: her best friends, her grandpa, her little sister (when she's not being annoying, which is almost always), candy necklaces, and the Apple Blossom Festival.

Dislikes: her little sister (when she's being annoying, which is almost always), her mom's yucky fish soup, and bad dreams (even though Grandpa says they mean good luck).

After a bad dream, Clara Lee has a whole day of good luck. But when her luck changes, she upsets her friends and family. Will Clara Lee have good luck again in time to try out for the Little Miss Apple Pie pageant?

Clara Lee is a delightful character from acclaimed author Jenny Han. This charming, humorous chapter book is perfect for fans of Clementine and Judy Moody!
  • Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
    • Format: Hardcover Book

    • Price: $14.99 US/$16.99 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316070386

    • On Sale Date: 01/04/2011

    • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

    • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

    Formats Available: Hardcover Book, Trade Paperback, Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

Meet Clara Lee.

Likes: her best friends, her grandpa, her little sister (when she's not being annoying, which is almost always), candy necklaces, and the Apple Blossom Festival.

Dislikes: her little sister (when she's being annoying, which is almost always), her mom's yucky fish soup, and bad dreams (even though Grandpa says they mean good luck).

After a bad dream, Clara Lee has a whole day of good luck. But when her luck changes, she upsets her friends and family. Will Clara Lee have good luck again in time to try out for the Little Miss Apple Pie pageant?

Clara Lee is a delightful character from acclaimed author Jenny Han. This charming, humorous chapter book is perfect for fans of Clementine and Judy Moody!

Jenny Han grew up in Richmond, Virginia and went to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She moved to NYC for graduate school and received her MFA in Writing for Children at the New School. She currently lives in Brooklyn and works part-time as a school librarian. Her debut novel Shug was published in 2006, and The Summer I Turned Pretty in Spring 2009.

Julia Kuo grew up in Chatsworth, California. After studying illustration and marketing at Washington University in St. Louis, she started working as a greeting card designer at American Greetings, where she still works while moonlighting as an illustrator. She currently lives in Shaker Heights, Ohio.
  • *"This is a delightful book that will have readers looking for more adventures featuring Clara Lee and her friends." (Library Media Connection (starred review)).

  • * "Han...captures an 8-year-old's perspective perfectly...The message shines through but doesn't overwhelm this engaging chapter book that will be welcomed by middle-grade fans of Clementine." (Kirkus (starred review)).

  • "Sparkly and cheerful...Numerous black-and-white illustrations provide newly independent readers with both plot clues and speedy page turns in this winning chapter book." (The Horn Book).

  • "Clara Lee thinks, speaks, and acts just like the third grader she is in this charming early chapter book. Black-and-white drawings, some full page and some spot art, feature the child, her dilemmas, and her successes. Fans of Clementine will enjoy this endearing character." (School Library Journal).

  • "The funniest interludes are her credible interactions with her younger sister; Clara Lee's memorable descriptions, such as the "limp green bean kind of hug" she gives her grandfather when she's feeling down, will endear her to readers." (Publishers Weekly).

  • "Readers will delight in this American-as-apple-pie third grader as she follows her BIG DREAM in a string of heartfelt adventures as perfect as an unbroken candy necklace." (Megan McDonald, author of the Judy Moody series).

  • "I really loved Clara Lee. This is a compact little book with a big heart." (Linda Sue Park, Newbery Award-winning author of A Single Shard).

  • "In this marvel of a book, Clara Lee shows us what it means to receive a shot of Good Luck, and at the same time she also learns how to be a better friend, granddaughter, and sister. It all adds up." (Kathi Appelt, Newbery Honor author of The Underneath and Keeper).

  • "I love Clara Lee's surprising and dead-on similes and metaphors and her fun play on words! I also love how she's totally ethno-cool and totally American. Way to go, Clara Lee!" (Lenore Look, author of the Ruby Lu and Alvin Ho series).

  • Praise for Shug:
    "This new author bears watching." (School Library Journal).

  • "Han's well-crafted first novel captures the aching hurt of exclusion in middle school, and the acute pain of vicious teasing. Shug's direct, honest narration reveals a wholly believable, endearing, hot-tempered young woman who faces painful truths and survives." (Booklist).

  • "Han's heartfelt first novel persuasively expresses the woes of Annemarie 'Shug' Wilcox during her first year of junior high." (Publishers Weekly).

  • Praise for The Summer I Turned Pretty:
    An ALA Best Books for Young Adults selection

    * "Han's novel offers plenty of summertime drama to keep readers looking forward to the next installment." (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

  • * "Romantic and heartbreakingly real." (School Library Journal, starred review).

Formats

Product Details

Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Price: $14.99 US/$16.99 CAN
  • Pages: 160
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/4" x 7-5/8"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316070386
  • On Sale Date: 01/04/2011
Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream