Transparency

Stories
By Frances Hwang (Electronic Book, 2009)
With a deceptively simple yet graceful style, and in the tradition of Lara Vapnyar, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Gish Jen, Frances Hwang captures the thousand minor battles waged in the homes of immigrants--struggles to preserve timehonored traditions or break free of them, to maintain authority or challenge it, and to take advantage of modern excesses without diluting one's ethnic identity.

In "Garden City," a weary Chinese couple, struggling to evict their deadbeat tenant, is forced to face the aftermath of their teenage son's death from cancer. And in "The Old Gentleman," a daughter becomes alienated from her father when he finds love--or what he thinks could be love--in his old age. Frances Hwang is a powerful talent, and TRANSPARENCY not only showcases her myriad gifts, but also announces the arrival of an exciting new voice.
  • Little, Brown and Company
    • Format: Electronic Book

    • Price: $9.99 US/$9.99 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316085243

    • On Sale Date: 09/26/2009

    • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

    Formats Available: Trade Paperback, Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

With a deceptively simple yet graceful style, and in the tradition of Lara Vapnyar, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Gish Jen, Frances Hwang captures the thousand minor battles waged in the homes of immigrants--struggles to preserve timehonored traditions or break free of them, to maintain authority or challenge it, and to take advantage of modern excesses without diluting one's ethnic identity.

In "Garden City," a weary Chinese couple, struggling to evict their deadbeat tenant, is forced to face the aftermath of their teenage son's death from cancer. And in "The Old Gentleman," a daughter becomes alienated from her father when he finds love--or what he thinks could be love--in his old age. Frances Hwang is a powerful talent, and TRANSPARENCY not only showcases her myriad gifts, but also announces the arrival of an exciting new voice.
  • (Library Journal).

Formats

Product Details

Transparency
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $9.99 US/$9.99 CAN
  • ISBN-13: 9780316085243
  • On Sale Date: 09/26/2009
Also By This Author
Transparency