Pushing Luck

By Elliott James (Electronic Book, 2013)
This is the third in a series of short stories by debut author Elliott James. The first of his novels, Charming, is available now.

Trying to make money off the grid, John Charming discovers an underground poker tournament where the hors d'oeuvres are made of human flesh and the players are gambling with much more than their money. All bets are off.

Word count: ~12,300

Other Short Fiction by Elliott James:
Charmed I'm Sure
Don't Go Chasing Waterfalls
Pushing Luck
Surreal Estate
Dog-Gone
  • Orbit
    • Format: Electronic Book

    • Price: $1.99 US/$1.99 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316253475

    • On Sale Date: 10/15/2013

    • Publisher: Orbit

    Formats Available: Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

This is the third in a series of short stories by debut author Elliott James. The first of his novels, Charming, is available now.

Trying to make money off the grid, John Charming discovers an underground poker tournament where the hors d'oeuvres are made of human flesh and the players are gambling with much more than their money. All bets are off.

Word count: ~12,300

Other Short Fiction by Elliott James:
Charmed I'm Sure
Don't Go Chasing Waterfalls
Pushing Luck
Surreal Estate
Dog-Gone

An army brat and gypsy scholar, ELLIOTT JAMES is currently living in the Blue Ridge mountains of southwest Virginia. An avid reader since the age of three (or that's what his family swears anyhow), he has an abiding interest in mythology, martial arts, live music, hiking, and used bookstores. Irrationally convinced that cellphone technology was inserted into human culture by aliens who want to turn us into easily tracked herd beasts, Elliott has one anyhow but keeps it in a locked tinfoil covered box which he will sometimes sit and stare at mistrustfully for hours. Okay, that was a lie. Elliott lies a lot; in fact, he decided to become a writer so that he could get paid for it.
  • "Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining." (

    Kevin Hearne, author of Hounded, on Charming
    ).

  • "Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining." (Kevin Hearne, author of Hounded).

  • "I loved this book from start to finish.  Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in."
    (
    New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire, on Charming
    ).

  • "I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world that I look forward to spending a lot more time in." (New York Times bestselling author, Seanan McGuire).

  • "James's world is rich and complex anew ell worth diving into."
    (
    Richard Kadrey, on Charming
    ).

  • "James's world is rich and complex and well worth diving into." (Richard Kadrey on Charming ).

  • "In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds... This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco."
    (Booklist on Charming).

  • "In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds...This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco." (Booklist on Charming ).

  • "Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways...Mark this name down -- you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James!" (RT Book Reviews on Charming).

  • "This debut introduces a self-depracating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-fault hero who can stand up to such established protagonists as Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Seanen McGuire's October Daye. Combining action and romance -- with an emphasis on action -- this is a top-notch new series opener for lovers of urban fantasy." (Library Journal (Starred Review) on Charming ).

Formats

Product Details

Pushing Luck
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Price: $1.99 US/$1.99 CAN
  • Pages: 75
  • ISBN-13: 9780316253475
  • On Sale Date: 10/15/2013
Pushing Luck