Inspector of the Dead

By David Morrell (Hardcover Book, 2015)
LEGENDARY THRILLER WRITER DAVID MORRELL TRANSPORTS READERS TO THE FOGBOUND STREETS OF LONDON, WHERE A KILLER PLOTS TO ASSASSINATE QUEEN VICTORIA.

The year is 1855. The Crimean War is raging. The incompetence of British commanders causes the fall of the English government. The Empire teeters. Amid this crisis comes opium-eater Thomas De Quincey, one of the most notorious and brilliant personalities of Victorian England. Along with his irrepressible daughter, Emily, and their Scotland Yard companions, Ryan and Becker, De Quincey finds himself confronted by an adversary who threatens the heart of the nation.

This killer targets members of the upper echelons of British society, leaving with each corpse the name of someone who previously attempted to kill Queen Victoria. The evidence indicates that the ultimate victim will be Victoria herself.


  • Little, Brown and Company
    • Format: Hardcover Book

    • Price: $26.00 US/$29.00 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316323932

    • On Sale Date: 03/24/2015

    • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

    • Imprint: Mulholland Books

    Formats Available: Hardcover Book, Electronic Book, Audiobook

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

LEGENDARY THRILLER WRITER DAVID MORRELL TRANSPORTS READERS TO THE FOGBOUND STREETS OF LONDON, WHERE A KILLER PLOTS TO ASSASSINATE QUEEN VICTORIA.

The year is 1855. The Crimean War is raging. The incompetence of British commanders causes the fall of the English government. The Empire teeters. Amid this crisis comes opium-eater Thomas De Quincey, one of the most notorious and brilliant personalities of Victorian England. Along with his irrepressible daughter, Emily, and their Scotland Yard companions, Ryan and Becker, De Quincey finds himself confronted by an adversary who threatens the heart of the nation.

This killer targets members of the upper echelons of British society, leaving with each corpse the name of someone who previously attempted to kill Queen Victoria. The evidence indicates that the ultimate victim will be Victoria herself.


David Morrell is an Edgar and Anthony Award finalist, a Nero and Macavity winner, and recipient of the prestigious career-achievement ThrillerMaster award from the International Thriller Writers. He has written twenty-nine works of fiction, which have been translated into thirty languages. He is also a former literature professor at the University of Iowa and received his PhD from Pennsylvania State University.
  • PRAISE FOR INSPECTOR OF THE DEAD:

    "Fans of sophisticated historicals will embrace Macavity Award-winner Morrell's second suspense novel featuring Thomas De Quincey and his grown daughter, Emily. . . . Convincing period detail complements the fascinating story line."
    (Publishers Weekly (starred)).

  • "Ripping good fun at every delicious twist and turn . . . De Quincey makes for an offbeat but entirely credible protagonist in the Sherlock Holmes mold. . . . It's a potent formula, with genuine thrills and a satisfying mystery leavened with well-observed and meticulously researched details of Victorian life and attitudes." (Kirkus Reviews).

  • "This finely wrought tale delivers enough period detail to give us the flavor of mid-nineteenth century Victorian England (but not so much we feel like we're reading a history text) and delivers a cast of compellingly crafted characters. De Quincey, in particular, is a brilliant creation, an amateur sleuth, writer, and drug addict who both repels and intrigues us at the same time. Top-notch entertainment." (Booklist).

  • "From the shockingly brutal murders at the start to the stunning conclusion, De Qincey and his fellow investigators race against time to discover who is killing prominent Londoners as a prelude to assassinating Queen Victoria. . . . Appeals [to] fans of historical fiction and Victorian-era crime novels as well as readers who enjoy Anne Perry or Robin Paige." (Library Journal).

  • "Dramatically paced . . . Morrell expertly captures in prose the economic and political divisions of Victorian society, but he leavens his social commentary with moments of high adventure." (Kirkus Reviews).

  • "Riveting! I literally thought I was in 1855 London. With this mesmerizing series, David Morrell doesn't just delve into the world of Victorian England--he delves into the heart of evil, pitting one man's opium-skewed brilliance against a society where appearances are everything . . .  and the most vicious killers lurk closer than anyone thinks."
    (Lisa Gardner, author of Crash & Burn and The Perfect Husband).

  • "A truly atmospheric and dynamic thriller. I was fascinated by how Morrell seamlessly blended elements from Thomas De Quincey's life and work. The solution is a complete surprise." (Grevel Lindelop, author of The Opium-Eater: A Life of Thomas De Quincey).

  • "The scope is remarkable. Florence Nightingale, the Crimean War, regicide, the railways, opium, the violence and despair of the London rookeries, medical and scientific innovations, arsenic in the food and clothing-all this makes the Victorian world vivid. The way Morrell depicts Thomas De Quincey places him in front of us, living and breathing. But his daughter Emily is in many ways the real star of the book." (Robert Morrison, author of The English Opium-Eater: A Biography of Thomas De Quincey).

  • "I absolutely raced through INSPECTOR OF THE DEAD and couldn't bear to put it down. I particularly liked how the very horrible crimes are contrasted with the developing, fascinating relationship between Thomas De Quincey and his daughter, Emily, who come across as extremely real. It was altogether a pleasure." (Judith Flanders, author of  The Invention of Murder: How the Victorians Reveled in Death and Detection and Created Modern Crime).

  • PRAISE FOR MURDER AS A FINE ART:

    " Murder as a Fine Art is a masterpiece--I don't use that word lightly-a fantastic historical thriller, beautifully written, intricately plotted, and populated with unforgettable characters. It brilliantly re-creates the London of gaslit streets, fogs, hansom cabs, and Scotland Yard. If you liked The Alienist, you will absolutely love this book. I was spellbound from the first page to last." (Douglas Preston, coauthor of the #1 bestseller Cold Vengeance).

  • "London 1854, noxious yellow fogs, reeking slums, intrigues in high places, murders most foul, but instead of Sherlock Holmes solving crimes via the fine art of deduction, we have the historical English Opium-Eater himself, Thomas De Quincey. David Morrell fans--and they are legion--can look forward to celebrating Murder as a Fine Art as one of their favorite author's strongest and boldest books in years." (Dan Simmons, author of Drood and The Terror).

  • ...AND FOR DAVID MORRELL:

    "An absolute master of the thriller." (Dean Koontz).

  • "The finest thriller writer living today, bar none." (Steve Berry).

  • "Everything [Morrell] writes has a you-are-there quality, and that, combined with his ability to propel characters through a scene, makes reading him like attending a private screening." (Washington Post Book World).

Formats

Product Details

Inspector of the Dead
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $26.00 US/$29.00 CAN
  • Pages: 352
  • Physical Dimensions: 6" x 9-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316323932
  • On Sale Date: 03/24/2015
Inspector of the Dead